RSS

MCAT Results!

01 Mar

The MCAT results came back today. I am kinda disappointed, but keeping positive. The PS and BS sections were spot on with what I thought I’d get. I actually did a bit better with the PS section. The verbal section was not what I thought I’d get. I did worse than I thought I would on this part, so that hurt my score(and my pride too. :P) a little. Written section was spot on with my predictions as well.

So…it looks like I had a good gauge of my performance save for a bit of overconfidence on verbal. I think I’ll try applying this summer as I don’t want a gap year between grad school and med school. If I don’t get in I can retake the MCAT and apply with a completed grad school degree to help for the second go. I’m glad the waiting is over though! It was really starting to get to me.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on March 1, 2011 in MCAT

 

Tags: , ,

14 responses to “MCAT Results!

  1. PGYx

    March 1, 2011 at 7:38 pm

    Good luck with your application! Worst case scenario you will retake the MCAT and have time to work on your strengths. Best case scenario, Class of 2016 (did I get the year right?). Are you all set with your new job or still in the application process?

     
    • Flustered Grad

      March 1, 2011 at 10:27 pm

      Thank you very much! I need those kind words today. Yep, hopefully it’ll be class of 2016. Otherwise, I have a plan if things don’t go well. :)

      I have an interview set up, for a nursing home just down the road from where I live, for next week. I’m hoping to hold out for a little if I can to hear from a surgical trauma position at a major hospital I applied to as well, but I’m not holding my breath as I have no trauma experience to sell myself. I think I might apply to that program again after getting some actual CNA experience.

       
  2. PGYx

    March 2, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    I believe you can do per diem work as a CNA at some (all?) of the local hospitals in your area. At least at some hospitals this is fairly easy work to get. Have you asked what the surgical trauma program is looking for in CNA experience/skills? It might help you to structure your work goals so that you can meet their expectations. You might also look into going the non-surgical critical care (e.g., ICU or MICU) or ED route. I would think it would be easier to start at the slower pace of a nursing home or medical floor, but I can’t say for sure.

     
    • Flustered Grad

      March 2, 2011 at 11:05 pm

      Yeah, per diem is very doable as a CNA. I’m hoping to poke the right people at the hospital that I volunteer at to see if I can’t get myself into something that way. I don’t know much about CNA work in non-nursing home facilities as we were not given any clinical time other than at the nursing home. *grumble* I’ll call up a few of the hospitals nearby and see if I can’t get more information about the positions and what they’re looking for skills wise. I’m a great pipetter and can setup rt-PCR plates like it’s no one’s business, but I don’t think that’s highly valued…as a CNA at least. :D

       
  3. Rishi

    March 4, 2011 at 9:20 pm

    Congrats Kevin! Just a word of advice – don’t apply to med school with the intention of applying more than once. Statistics show that reapplicants have much more difficulty getting in the second time (in spite of whatever improvements they make to their apps). Apply once… at your very best. Just my two cents buddy! :-)

     
    • Flustered Grad

      March 4, 2011 at 9:53 pm

      True…and I know this! I’m mean, I read it on your blog here, and had never really thought about it that way before then. Why can’t I seem to follow good advice when it’s given too me?! I’m hoping to post an entry on applying tonight/tomorrow morning here.

       
  4. PGYx

    March 4, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    Okay, I have a question for Rishi: What exactly do the statistics measure? I don’t disagree that an applicant should put together the best possible package, but I’m curious how the worse outlook for reapplicants is measured when 100% of them failed to matriculate on first try.

    FG: I agree that it makes good sense to take a hard look at your complete application (including MCAT score) and assess which parts should be improved. Average MCAT scores for incoming osteopathic medical school students increase each year. You might even ask someone closer to the process if your scores would likely take you out of the game before you start. Not sure whether the admissions directors would share this information (am I living in a dreamland?), but I would think they can at least tell you what was the average MCAT score for last year’s class.

    It’s definitely better to know where you stand before the application process so you can revamp your study/learning/test-taking approach in order to get scores that won’t require admissions committees to justify an acceptance letter in spite of an MCAT score that is below last year’s class average. MCAT scores also seem to correlate fairly well with board exam performance, and the adcoms want reassurance that you will pass or even excel on board exams in addition to all the other good stuff that you certainly bring to the table.

     
    • Flustered Grad

      March 4, 2011 at 10:54 pm

      MG, I also agree with you on a lot of things. I wish I’d read your reply before posting the next post Let me know what you think. Your point about the competitive factor really strikes a chord with me.

       
    • Flustered Grad

      March 5, 2011 at 9:54 pm

      I’ll look into getting in touch with the schools that I’m looking into applying to. I never would have thought to just attempt to contact them. Thanks for that bit of advise!

       

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

