RSS

MCAT Study Update

22 Oct

mcat8.gif (Zoology - University of Oklahoma)

I’ve been studying for the MCAT for the last three weeks or so now. It’s had it’s ups and downs. For one, I really had to get used to actually studying for long periods or time as well as studying consistently. Throughout most of my undergraduate years, my studying mostly consisted of cramming a few days before an exam. I was able to get by well enough doing that.

This lack of caring about actually understanding the information being fed to me and simply memorizing it as quickly as possible means that when I look at almost all the subjects in the sciences that are covered by the BR study books I don’t know jack. At best there’s the “Hmm…I think I vaguely remember how to do this stuff a bit.” This naïve thought is crushed after doing the first third of the passages for the chapter and getting loads of the questions wrong.

Even with things that I thought I knew after reading and reviewing the chapter are proven shaky at best when it comes time to face the music and do the passage problems. At least the verbal passages come easy for me.

Clearly, I need to revamp my study process before getting too much further into things. Over the next few days I’ll be trying out different things, like I did with diagramming the human heart, to see what works and what doesn’t. Hopefully I’ll hit on something better than what I’m doing now.

Cheers!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 22, 2010 in MCAT

 

Tags: ,

4 responses to “MCAT Study Update

  1. Rishi

    October 24, 2010 at 5:01 pm

    I know exactly what you’re referring to man. This post brings back some bad memories, haha. Glad that verbal is coming easy for you though! A part of me thinks I would have done better if the passages were in Spanish. 😉 Keep it up!

     
    • Flustered Grad

      October 24, 2010 at 9:37 pm

      Thanks a lot! I’m thankful I don’t have to worry about taking the MCAT in a language that’s not my native one. Major props to you! 🙂

       
      • Rishi

        October 25, 2010 at 5:23 pm

        Haha, oh no, English is my native language. I’m just remarking on the fact that I sucked at verbal so much, I would’ve been better off guessing answers in a foreign language. 🙂

         
  2. Flustered Grad

    October 25, 2010 at 10:44 pm

    *face palm* Ah, my mistake. Haha.

     

Leave a Reply

 
