RSS

Things My CNA Teacher Says

23 Dec

In the last 2 weeks of class for CNA training I have observed some strange, half-truths, and downright wrong things that have come out of the teacher’s mouth. I have begun writing them down as I hear them in a separate side column. Here is a list of some of the things she has said:

The Strange:

  • Sex is something even older people enjoy you just need to make sure you knock before entering a patient’s room. Of course, they might not have the greatest hearing, fail to know you’re knocking, and keep right on going!
  • You will develop an iron stomach from this job.  You will see people at their worst moments. You will have to clean up someone’s feces and keep a smile.
  • Don’t use a restraint on patients, physical or chemical, unless it’s absolutely necessary. (I asked her what we do if a patient becomes violent.) Try other things to calm them down like moving them somewhere else. (But I don’t want to get hit/clawed/bitten while moving Mr. Jenkins down the hall just to give him a change of scenery.)

 

The Half-truths:

  • Cells and your body can repair and heal itself (True), so there’s no reason for us to have failing health as we get older.
  • The cure for cancer has been worked on for so long and a cure still hasn’t been found.(True.) That’s because it’s a big money-maker? (Ehh? Cancer research is a big money maker? Why wasn’t I told?! Who’s making the money? The big pharmas pouring money into research with no returns or maybe it’s the academic researchers scraping by in lab with minimum funding?)
  • Oh DNA fixes itself all the time(True!), so there’s no real limit on the number of times a cell can divide. (Um, no. Cells make mistakes DNA errors will be missed, and mutations will occur.)

 

The Downright Wrong:

  • The research into Alzheimer’s Disease has still given us no ideas about what causes it. (At this point I’d had enough, raised my hand, and proceeded to talk about several resent papers that pointed towards the deregulation/mutation of genetic underpinnings that all pointed towards things that might cause Alzheimer’s Disease. I was quickly brushed off by the teacher.)
  • We will eventually find a way to take in all the nutrients we need through the air. (What?! First, I don’t think there are aerosolized fats, carbohydrates and lipids floating around for us to suck in. Even if there were, I don’t think the Alveoli in our lungs would like the added task of processing the food in addition to…ya know, breathing!)

 

While this teacher seems to have her heart in the right place, being someone who seems to genuinely care about the welfare of others, she is so amazingly lacking in basic scientific knowledge that I can’t get my head around it. What really scares me though, is when I hear her say some of these ridiculous, untrue things, I look over and see some of my classmates nodding understandingly. O_o

I sincerely hope that this teacher is not indicative of the level of understanding that nurses, in general, have of basic science. In fact, I know it’s not. I have many friends that are involved on some level in nursing who would smoke this teach out of the water in the basic science skills, and are still just as compassionate and capable. If you are a nurse out there reading this, I apologize if this post offends you, it was not my intention to do so. If you’re really, honestly, offended I’d suggest we get a coffee and talk things over. I’d love to hear your side of things. Cheers everyone!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 23, 2010 in CNA

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Things My CNA Teacher Says

Leave a Reply

 
