RSS

Comfort Zone, Growth Zone, and Freakout Zone

17 Jan

There are levels of comfort that we all have that set our boundaries to the things we will/will not do. This is known as our comfort zone. If the situation that we’re presented with falls within our comfort zone we are cool, calm, and collected. If the situation falls outside that comfort zone however then we start seeing problems arise. We become uncomfortable, to varying degrees depending on how far outside our comfort zone we find ourselves. In order to expand our comfort zone we need a way to push ourselves safely. This is where our growth zone comes into play. Here’s a diagram a made to help explain things better.

Graph of various comfort zones

Graph of various comfort zones

I used to be extremely bad with speaking in front of groups. I couldn’t do it well, and I didn’t want to do it either. My comfort zone was very small when it came to public speaking.

In my junior year of high school I was offered a positionserving as the Unit-Elections Chairman on my Order of the Arrow(OA) lodge’s committee board. I took the position as it allowed me to be more involved with the running of the lodge(plus it would look great on a college application. 😉 )

The job was supposed to involve me managing the unit-elections committee and coordinate and delegate the members to the various Boy Scout troops around the county and hold elections to elect candidates for joining the OA. After I took over I found that most of the committee members were inactive. Thus the committee consisted of me and maybe three other boys to handle the 50 odd troops that needed to have elections that spring. I ended up talking to various troops around the county, often going to several troops in a week. I quickly got used to speaking in front of small groups of people. It was a lot of work, but it was a great opportunity to grow as a person.

If you learn to find ways to push yourself outside of your comfort zone and into the growth zone you’ll be amazed at what you can accomplish. Be wary of pushing yourself too far, too fast or you may get overwhelmed and find yourself in the freakout zone.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 17, 2011 in Motivational

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Comfort Zone, Growth Zone, and Freakout Zone

  1. PGY1

    January 23, 2011 at 8:59 am

    One of my recent resolutions is to say yes to just about every opportunity to leave my comfort zone. So far it has worked out really well and led to significant growth — and I haven’t spontaneously combusted or anything bad like that. 🙂

    I could also say that starting internship represented a major departure from my CZ, and the growth from that has been HUGE.

     
    • Flustered Grad

      January 25, 2011 at 8:07 am

      Ooh, that’s a good resolution to have. Glad to hear you’re making progress already(and that you didn’t spontaneously combust). Good luck!

       

Leave a Reply

 
