RSS

MCAT Recap

28 Jan

pulling hair out

 

Well folks it’s all over now. The MCAT has come and gone. Thank goodness! Now for the post-test analysis, broken down by section:

Physical Sciences:

The physical science section was definitely the hardest one for me. I felt like I had to guess way too much for comfort. Maybe it was too early in the morning for this to be the first part tackled or something, but I felt really off coming out of this part. This part was the reason I gave a thought to voiding.
Potential Score: 7? I don’t know…it was bad. haha

Verbal:

The verbal section, I thought, was a cake walk by comparison. I was confident for all except a passage that was about law and stuff. That one hung me out to dry. This was my strong point, so I was happy that it went smoothly.
Potential Score: Looking for a 10+ on this part hopefully!

Writing:

This section was good and bad. Out of the two essay prompts, one was easy and the other was a bit harder. I had a little trouble formulating a clear argument for the latter. My guess is that it should be an average score or better overall.
Potential Score: Thinking an O or better would not be too much to hope for.

Biological Sciences:

This part was mixed. The organic chemistry parts were hard, but I knew that I’d have trouble with those going in. There were a few questions that’d asked for facts about exact points I had made flashcards for. Score! There was another passage that had a question or two that covered stuff I had just learned in my Pharmacology course not a week earlier. Always a good feeling! This section overall was okay. Not great, not horrible. Just okay.
Potential Score: Maybe an 7-8? I don’t want to be too optimistic. The orgo will probably drag the bio down a little in the end.

So overall, it wasn’t a total disaster. 😛 For my first time taking the MCAT I feel okay. If I have to take it again I’m alright with that too. I’ve gone toe-to-toe with the mystical beast, and I won’t be as nervous a second time. If my experience today is anything to base things on, my graduate courses will be a huge boon for my success the next time around. Now I just need to wait a month to see what I actually got. Is it March 1st yet?? 🙂

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 28, 2011 in MCAT

 

Tags: ,

7 responses to “MCAT Recap

  1. Rishi

    January 29, 2011 at 10:13 pm

    Oh – my – gosh. This brings back *awful* memories, haha. I ended up taking the MCAT twice, but hopefully you won’t have to endure the beast for a second time! Are you planning on applying for the class of 2016?

     
    • Flustered Grad

      January 29, 2011 at 11:34 pm

      Deep breaths now! There we go. It’s all behind you. 🙂 I’m not counting out round two just yet. I would love to apply for the class of 2016, but that’ll depend on my scores from this test. Most likely, I’ll be shooting for 2017. That’ll allow for me to apply once with a final graduate GPA and an MCAT score that has(hopefully) improved from the first test. A wise man once told me, “Apply at your best,”. 😉

       

Leave a Reply

 
