RSS

CNA Class Finished!

06 Feb

CNA Nurse Cartoon

 

My last CNA class was this week! 🙂 That wraps up the seven week course in basic skills and knowledge of a CNA. I’ve learned a lot of useful things in this course, even though I think the teacher was a bit batty at times. The course did a few things for me that made it worth it. First, it taught me a lot of basic skills for assessing a patient and what to watch for if a patient’s health takes a turn for the worse. Second, it taught me how to listen and talk to my patients(yes…even the demented ones) to connect with them and find out things that a standard history might miss. While I did enjoy interacting with the patients, I wasn’t the best at it. I suppose that will get better with time. 🙂

Most importantly, I think this course and, in the future, this job as a CNA has given me a look into the world of nurses. I think my time as a CNA can only benefit me and allow me to have better relationships with the nurses that I come in contact with. If nothing else, I will be able to see things from both sides of the divide, and maybe work to bring the two together. Because when it comes down to it, both sides are here to serve the patients albeit in different ways. Now I just need to pass my state skills test and written test to be officially certified to work.

 
8 Comments

Posted by on February 6, 2011 in CNA

 

Tags:

8 responses to “CNA Class Finished!

  1. PGY1

    February 6, 2011 at 12:47 pm

    Well go pass those tests! And know that a CNA’s job is both much harder and much easier than a doctor’s job, depending on the moment you look at each one. 🙂

     
  2. Rishi

    February 6, 2011 at 9:38 pm

    In my short time on the wards, I’ve come to learn how incredibly valuable good nurses are to the healthcare system. It’s true… their jobs really are harder in many instances. Congrats on finishing those CNA classes! 🙂

     
  3. themochamom

    February 18, 2011 at 8:52 am

    I’m getting ready to start an accelerated CNA class. Two weeks classroom work, Two weeks of clinicals. Do you have any advice that you can share with me? I am a bit older (late 30’s) and hear it is harder for someone my age to do the classroom work, so I was hoping you might have some great advice for me.
    Thanks! And best of luck to you on your state exams.

     
    • Flustered Grad

      February 18, 2011 at 8:11 pm

      First of all, congrats on taking the first step! I think you’ll find that you can learn a lot during your class; about medicine and about yourself. Your age has nothing to do with learning the material and do the classwork. Don’t let anyone tell you otherwise! I had a 60 year old woman in my class and two women in their 40s as well. They were just as enthusiastic and proficient with the material as myself and the other two college-age kids. If anything, they had the maturity and experience to see things that we young kids missed.

      The one thing that we had, as college-age kids, over our older classmates were sharper test-taking skills. Try to get back into the test taking mindset by testing yourself with practice tests, flashcards, or whatever you can. It’ll help for in-class exams and, ultimately, the state written exam. Best of luck with your class! Be sure to stop back and let me know how it all went!

       
  4. Busy As A Bee

    March 18, 2011 at 9:42 am

    Well, I finished my class! It wasn’t bad, being accelerated was for sure a lot harder just because we had so many tests in such a short time and such little time to really prepare for them. But- I made it through it all. Today is my last day of “clinicals”. I start working w/o my instructor on Sunday now and all ready forming relationships with some of our residents. This has been a very rewarding thing for me to do, and I didn’t realize how much I would really enjoy being there with them all. Now I have to take my state test, but I am giving myself time to keep working and learning my procedures before I go take it. Thanks for your advice!
    ~previously posted as themochamom~

     

Leave a Reply

 
