RSS

30 Day Sleep Experiment Update

21 Feb

Sleep Cycle Phases

Time has flown by this last few weeks. Before I realized it, I was overdue on my promised update on my biphasic sleep experiment. I wish I had glowing positive news to report. Unfortunately, this sleep experiment ended badly. It started out on track, I was taking my power sleep time like I was supposed to. The power sleep did give me a little more alertness for the rest of the day. The drawback however was that I lost more time overall. I lost about 10-15 minutes getting to sleep and then lost another half hour or so on the other end waiting for the sleep grogginess to lift. I experimented with shortening and lengthening the time to see if it would get rid of the grogginess. It turned out that shorter sleep(under 30 minutes) was best to control the foggy feelings.

The second part of the equation, shortening the longer sleep period, did prove fruitful results. I started allowing myself to sleep only in allotments of time that were divisible by 1.5. The reasoning behind this came from my reading on the cycles that we go through repeatedly as we sleep at night. It made me able to get up quicker, and left me needing to hit the snooze button less. I would sleep for 6 or 7.5 hours typically. That seemed to offer the best balance between enough sleep and not sleeping too much.

In the end, I felt that the lost time was not acceptable for the return that I was getting with the increased alertness. I would also find that, ironically,  I work too much to remember to take the second nap. Getting my snooze button punching habit under control will help me a lot in the mornings. I know that people always say 8 hours of sleep is set, but I think that getting 6 – 7.5 hours won’t do me too  much harm. The last thing I’ve decided is to allow myself the 20 minute nap in the afternoon around 1-3pm if I feel like I need it. I won’t make it a hard and fast rule, because I always end up breaking the rules anyways. This will save myself the guilt. 😛

But for whatever challenge you make for yourself, remember that at each moment in time you are either choosing to do it, or choosing to do something else. My priorities were clearly elsewhere when it came to this project, so it has been put to rest(no pun intended) now.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 21, 2011 in Personal

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “30 Day Sleep Experiment Update

  1. Rishi

    February 22, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    …this sounds like an awfully good case report in the works. 😉

     
  2. PGYx

    February 24, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    Oddly enough, I accidentally tried biphasic sleep the same day I read your initial post on the topic. I fell asleep early, woke around 2 am, and went back to sleep for a few hours after working for a few hours. Like you, I didn’t like having to get past grogginess twice in one day. It’s painful enough once each morning! That said, afternoon naps rock! I’m glad you’ve found a sleep approach that works well for you. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
