RSS

Medical Maladies Quiz?

28 Mar

Calling All Medical Bloggers And Med/Pre-med Readers!

I’m taking an idea that I got from schorrmore’s lovely blog (do visit, it’s simply awesome 🙂 ). I am thinking of doing a medically based quiz of sorts for all the bloggers/readers to take part in. Here’s the scoop:

  • It would be a weekly posting
  • Based on an interesting case report or something in the realm of medical science
  • It would be open to anyone via posting their answer in the comments or a poll embedded in the blog entry
  • Meant to foster a sense of community and friendly competition among med community bloggers and readers
  • Keep fresh on your scientific and medical knowledge

Here’s an example:

Identify the bacterium in the picture below:

What Am I?

Post the answer if you can figure it out in the comments below.

Hint #1 (highlight over the text to view): It’s a common, seasonal infection in wooded areas.

Hint #2: It is most commonly transmitted to humans via an arachnid.

What do you think?? 😀 I’m excited to see if we could get something going. There’s the possibility to present an interesting clinical case each week and see who can come up with a diagnosis. If you get it right you’d get a point. The students get to learn something from the cases and the seasoned med students/residents get to show off their mad skillz!

 
19 Comments

Posted by on March 28, 2011 in Medical Maladies

 

Tags: ,

19 responses to “Medical Maladies Quiz?

  1. Dr. Skeptic

    March 29, 2011 at 12:33 pm

    Borrelia burgdorferi. Lyme Disease.

    Not very common in my part of the woods! Love the new section! Keep ’em coming!

     
    • Flustered Grad

      March 29, 2011 at 1:43 pm

      You’d be correct! It is very common in my neck of the woods. Thanks for taking the time to comment. I’m glad you liked it!

       
  2. PGYx

    March 29, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    Happy blog-versary! I like the quiz idea! Nice choice for the first one!

     
  3. Rishi

    March 29, 2011 at 7:15 pm

    Great idea! You’ve inspired me to do the same thing. 🙂 Congrats on making it to one year!

     
    • Flustered Grad

      March 29, 2011 at 8:30 pm

      Thanks! I’m looking forward to seeing what you come up with!

       
    • Dr. Skeptic

      March 30, 2011 at 1:31 am

      WOW. Rishi has a .md domain! So cool! Wait lemme check out the site!

       
      • Flustered Grad

        March 30, 2011 at 7:01 am

        It is cool! Do check it out! 😉

         
      • Rishi

        March 30, 2011 at 11:56 am

        Thanks! It’s registered through Moldova. I just hope I don’t flunk outta med school… otherwise I’m going to have to change it. 😉

         
        • Flustered Grad

          March 30, 2011 at 12:43 pm

          As in the country?! Cool! I don’t think your the flunk out of med school type Rishi. 🙂

           
  4. schorrmore

    March 29, 2011 at 7:49 pm

    Aw, thanks for the link! I was going to guess the bacteria behind Lyme disease, but it looks like someone beat me to it! I’ll have to be quicker on the next one 🙂

     
    • Flustered Grad

      March 29, 2011 at 8:29 pm

      No problem! 😀 I think I’ll use a poll to record answers next week. This way everyone gets a chance to solve the case.

       
  5. Chief

    March 29, 2011 at 10:28 pm

    that was like my tenth guess 😉

     
  6. mymedschooladventure

    March 30, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    haha yes! I thought it was Lyme disease but I didn’t know the bacteria that caused it.
    I look forward to more of these quizzes.

     
    • Flustered Grad

      March 30, 2011 at 3:04 pm

      Glad you got something from it! I’m going to start working on the next one soon. Stay tuned!

       

Leave a Reply

 
