RSS

Blissful Silence

01 Apr

There’s something magical about getting up at 5:30am, showering, and spending some early hours working on stocking the OR supplies before everyone else gets there. The sanitation services and OR stock room at my local hospital are incredibly quiet (almost) as most of the employees don’t start getting in until around 8am. It’s just me, a wall full of unsorted supplies, and the sound of my footsteps along the corridors. I can get lost in my thoughts and really just relax. There’s no grad school assignments here, no lab work here, no med school worries here. Just the supplies I stick into the little plastic basket and wander with, and they don’t do much talking. Sometimes I’ll see a man coming off the night shift from working supplies for the trauma surgeries in the OR core. He’ll smile and nod to me, never saying much more than, “Hey man,”.

These are the moments I enjoy. The moments where I can set aside everything else, if only for a little while. It’s a walking mediation of sorts for me. It’s better than a vacation in some ways. Stepping out of that little bubble of  tranquility and back on the street after I’m finished with all my work brings all the worries and to-do lists swirling back with the breeze that tugs at my scrubs. And yet, I look to the sky and I smile. I wouldn’t trade this life for anything. I am content.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on April 1, 2011 in Personal, Volunteer

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Blissful Silence

  1. Rishi

    April 1, 2011 at 7:43 pm

    Man, this is too deep for April Fool’s Day, haha. 😉 Nah, in all sincerity, great post!! The concept of “silence” really is underrated in bringing relaxation to our tech-engrossed generation.

     
    • Flustered Grad

      April 2, 2011 at 12:45 pm

      Thank you! I agree that we sometime forget the need for silence when we are constantly bombarded by stimulus all day.

       

Leave a Reply

 
