RSS

Medical Maladies Quiz #1 – Answer

06 Apr
Vibrio cholerae

Image by AJC1 via Flickr

Wow! There were lots of good guesses for this week’s case. The answer I was looking for was Vibrio cholerae but I think V. vulnificus would fit the case equally well. Tell the truth, I hadn’t even considered it while writing up the case.

Vibrio parahaemolyticus, V. cholerae, and V. vulnificus are the main Vibrio species that have been tied to seafood-borne infections. The elevated HR and the lowered BP pointed to a worsening case of dehydration, brought on by the diarrhea.

I guess this means I need to learn to be a little more specific in what I’m looking for. Next week’s case will be a little more specific in the diagnosis. Bear with me as I iron out the bumps. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 6, 2011 in Medical Maladies

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
