RSS

First Med School Interview!

07 Apr

interview

Today I had my first medical school interview with Ross University!  I had gotten an email earlier in the week about being selected for an interview, but that I would hear back about the exact date after confirming some available dates. I replied that my schedule was open and flexible and they set me up for this morning.

It was a little over an hours drive to get to Ross’ regional center, and I went in for the interview shortly after arriving. The interview was one-on-one, open file, and lasted a little over an hour. We went through several parts of my application. I discussed some of the lower grades that I had received, explained my favorite course, and talked about my volunteering experiences and my training as a CNA among other things. Oh yeah, and of course, “Why do you want to be a doctor?”. Can’t forget that question! 😛

It was, overall, quite nerve-wracking! I eventually relaxed after the first response or two and enjoyed our discussion. I think it went pretty well! Now I just have to wait for 2-6 weeks to hear back about a final admissions decision. O_o This waiting is going to kill me! I also heard back from AUC yesterday that my application is complete and that they will get back to me in, you guessed it,  2-6 weeks with a final decision. Yay…more waiting!

 
20 Comments

Posted by on April 7, 2011 in Applications, Med School

 

Tags: , ,

20 responses to “First Med School Interview!

  1. Ryan Nguyen

    April 7, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    Wow, congrats on getting an interview. It sounds like it went well. On a side note, were you able to talk about your blog at all in your interview?

     
    • Flustered Grad

      April 7, 2011 at 7:35 pm

      Thank you! I decided not talk about my blog since I didn’t/don’t want anything I write on here to affect the final decision.

       
  2. PA SuperTammy

    April 7, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    If you find out that you are accepted are you still going to apply to DO schools in the US? Just curious! Glad it seems to have gone well though 🙂

     
    • Flustered Grad

      April 8, 2011 at 5:50 am

      At this point, probably not. I’ll try to explain some of my reasons in a future post soon.

       
  3. Benji

    April 8, 2011 at 2:18 am

    Hey Kevin!
    That’s awesome you got an interview and I’m glad to hear it went well! Good luck in the rest of your applications!
    Benji

     
  4. Athena

    April 8, 2011 at 4:36 pm

    Hey!

    I just came upon your blog after a google search about medical school.
    Just out of curiosity…why did you only choose those two Caribbean schools? Why not say, SGU, AUA or SABA?

     
    • Flustered Grad

      April 8, 2011 at 5:19 pm

      Welcome Athena, and thank you for the comment! I applied to AUC and Ross because they had the same strong track record as SGU. I can get a comparable education without the extra $100,000 cost in tuition. I looked into SABA and requested information from them, but never heard anything back. Their website was vague on some of the concrete numbers I was searching for, so I skipped over them.

      SABA and AUA are newer and haven’t established themselves as well yet. Plus, I need to be able to get federal student loans to pay for med school, which SABA and AUA do not have. SABA can offer private loans(through Ed-Invest) for US students. The interest rates on these loans are generally much higher(12 – 23%) vs US federal loans(6-8%). Given the amount of money you may have to borrow for med school, every 1% higher adds up to paying thousands of dollars more.

       
      • PA SuperTammy

        April 10, 2011 at 1:15 am

        Wow, 23% is insanely high, especially given how much money people would need to borrow.

         
        • Flustered Grad

          April 10, 2011 at 5:57 pm

          Yeah, if you’re not careful it can pile up pretty quickly.

           
  5. Rishi

    April 8, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    This brings back good memories of being on the interview trail. Best of luck buddy! 🙂

     
  6. PGYx

    April 9, 2011 at 7:20 pm

    I’m glad to hear the interview went well. Good luck getting into the right place at the right time!

     
  7. changingmoods

    April 9, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    Good luck to you! Sounds like the interview went very well.

     
  8. schorrmore

    April 14, 2011 at 2:56 am

    Congrats on what sounds like a good interview! Waiting is just awful- hopefully you’ll hear back closer to 2 weeks out than 6 weeks out. Good luck!!

     
    • Flustered Grad

      April 14, 2011 at 7:06 am

      Thanks! I really hope it’s closer to 2 weeks too.

       

Leave a Reply

 
