RSS

6 Week Challenge: Spanish!

18 Apr
Spanish speaking percent per state. Blue is 50...

% of Spanish Speakers per State

Since starting grad school I said goodbye to learning Japanese. Something I had worked on for about two years on and off. I had gotten to a level where I could comfortably read a good chunk of any manga aimed at teenagers without a dictionary. However, it was not something that I foresaw myself using in the future. The practicality of actually using Japanese outside of Japan, or small pockets of Japanese ex-pats, is mind-blowingly low. Like absolute zero low. 😛 So I left language studying behind, thinking I would never have any time for it with grad school and research.

As fate would have it, I’ve found myself staring at my shelf of Japanese material and even flipping through them a little. The desire to pick up Japanese again had faded, but not the wish to continue learning languages. Flash forward to today, when I read about a challenge to take six weeks and try to learn as much of a language as you could. I was intrigued! After reading up on the rules and other pesky details I decided to sign myself up.

Starting the first week of May, I’ll be studying Spanish for six weeks. It’s a language that has enormous potential for being used here in the US and in many countries abroad. Plus, I know that several residency programs prefer applicants with a knowledge of Spanish or another second language. I will be posting weekly updates once that gets rolling. I think I will be using Harry Potter y la Piedra Filosofal (Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone) for my study materials. I’m familiar with the English book already, so that’ll help I hope. This should be an interesting little experiment. I’m excited to get back into language learning again. Wish me luck! 😀

 
7 Comments

Posted by on April 18, 2011 in Spanish 6WC

 

Tags: , , ,

7 responses to “6 Week Challenge: Spanish!

  1. PGYx

    April 20, 2011 at 6:58 pm

    Fantastic goal! You’ll be able to use your Spanish language skills on the wards starting 3rd year and you will be adored. 🙂

    I took a short medical Spanish course during med school (after once-upon-a-time being near-fluent in French and learning a lot of Latin scientific word roots during college) and I used it a lot. I hated being unable to hold a real conversation, but at least I could ask about symptoms and explain basics of the plan.

    Maybe I’ll follow in your footsteps and revisit Spanish! I look forward to reading about your progress.

     
    • Flustered Grad

      April 20, 2011 at 8:31 pm

      🙂 That’s the plan! I’ll try to outline my study plan as it gets closer to the start date. I broke down and listened to the first chapter of the book, and loved it. I forgot how nice Spanish sounded!

       
  2. wordconnections

    April 24, 2011 at 8:03 pm

    You may be interested in my blog, which deals with connections between words in Spanish and English.

     
    • Flustered Grad

      April 24, 2011 at 9:28 pm

      Indeed your blog could prove useful to me in my studies. Thank you for taking to the time to comment. I’ll be following your blog with great interest, especially so, over the next few weeks.

       
  3. Madina

    December 14, 2012 at 2:26 am

    Hey! I teach Spanish – let me know if you need any help. 😉 All the best! -m

     

Leave a Reply

 
