RSS

Nose to the Grindstone

29 Apr

Studying Student

It’s that time of year, the time when students crawl away into holes in the library and study for their finals. I’ve been feeling very lax(read: not quite as motivated as I should be) about my classes since getting the email notification from Ross University. That little bubble of serenity burst today when I got the official letter in the mail from the school. It read something like this: 

It is with great pleasure that I write to inform you of your admission to Ross University. [sic] Our records indicate that your final transcript from your graduate school is still outstanding. Your acceptance at this time is contingent upon our receipt of official documentation of all premed requirements. [sic] Please note that your admission is contingent upon your maintenance of a satisfactory academic record, and that any test scores, letters of recommendation or other materials that have been submitted on your behalf are of the same high standards as those upon which we based our acceptance.

I felt my stomach drop to my feet. I hadn’t done as well on the second exams in Pharmacology or Antimicrobial Drugs, and now had B’s in the classes. I don’t know what they consider acceptable, but I figure, at the least, I need to keep my grades at a B level. This meant getting an A/high B on the final exams. *gulp* Last thing I want is to lose my admission slot from getting a C in the classes. Needless to say, I spent about three hours today going over the textbook and re-taking notes for two of the chapters in Antimicrobial Drugs for the final this Monday.

It’s hard to know what to expect for the exams in either class since there’s a different professor for each week’s lecture. Each of the professors writes a portion the exam which are then combined into one big exam. This makes the type of questions and difficulty, in so far as details asked, vary widely. There’s also no way to learn how a professor lectures, gives exams, or likes to word questions since you’ll never see that professor again after the lecture. 😦 I’m just going to try my best to destroy the material and hope I hit the right points. Wish me luck! *crawls back into my study cave*

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 29, 2011 in Grad School

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Nose to the Grindstone

  1. Axl

    April 29, 2011 at 10:15 pm

    No – they won’t take your admission away unless you fail every class and then take a dump on the dean’s desk. Its sort of a formality.

    In other news, I had a major issue over at my blog, which now has a new address: stealingmedschool.blogspot.com

    Thanks for reading Flustered – hope you will keep doing so!

     
    • Flustered Grad

      April 30, 2011 at 9:07 am

      Somewhere in the back of my mind I know it’s just a formality, but the other part of my mind loves to worry. 🙂

      I wondered why my RSS reader hadn’t been showing anything from your blog’s feed lately. Updated with the new address. *thumbs up*

       
  2. SuperTammy

    May 4, 2011 at 10:53 pm

    Even knowing it is probably just a formality, having any bit of insecurity about your status is nerve-wracking!! Hope your exams are going well!

     

Leave a Reply

 
