RSS

A Deadly Combination

06 May
A photo of a cup of coffee.

Image via Wikipedia

Apparently, according to this article just released recently on MedScape, several factors/activities have been elucidated as having the potential to exacerbate and/or trigger an intracranial aneurysm rupture. Among these factors three were: the consumption of coffee or cola, straining for defecation, and vigorous physical activity.

This is just the kind of news that I need to cause me to panic! Not really, but it was food for thought. Just two days ago, I had gone out for a jog after having had a cup of coffee an hour earlier. I thought nothing of it then. About 1.5 miles into my run my chest felt terrible and my lungs were on fire. I was terrified and walked the rest of the way back home. Did the coffee play a role in this little episode? I don’t know. Maybe it was a combination of over stimulation of my system by the caffeine or a lack of water from the diuretic effects.

Needless to say, I’ve not touched the stuff if I’m planning on doing any sort of high intensity cardio. Last thing I want is to be found all splayed out on the sidewalk from a failed heart or what have you. 😉 Anyone else had any issues from odd combinations of coffee and other activities? Feel free to share in the comments below!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 6, 2011 in Interesting Articles

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “A Deadly Combination

  1. Rishi

    May 6, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    I think you hit the nail on the head: coffee + other stimulants = over-stimulation = omg-my-heart-is-going-to-explode.

    I’d imagine that people on say… Ritalin… better be watching their coffee intake. 😉

     

Leave a Reply

 
