RSS

End of the World? Not my problem!

21 May
Soviet Rocket Postage Stamp

Soviet Rocket Postage Stamp - karen horton, Flickr

As I’m sure many of you have heard by now the world apocalypse was predicted by a Christian radio group in Oakland, California (if my sources are correct). They say the world will end at 6pm today. Why does this not bother me you ask? For one, my weather man is giving me a 10 day forecast, and surely he would never lie to me! 🙂 Mostly is because I can think back to all the other astronomically wrong predictions that people have made in the past. We, as a species, are terrible predictors of the future, try as we might. We were wrong about Y2K, about the future influence of the internet (upon which this delightful blog resides), and about the practicality of rocket mail (A real concept I swear! Here’s the link where I found it: Missile Mail).

So I’m not too terribly worried about this being right. My evening will consist of finalizing my choice for a laptop for med school, doing some pleasure reading that has been neglected thanks to grad school courses, and relaxing on the patio in the backyard with a beer or two. All of this being done while enjoying the amazing weather we’re having that hints of summer just around the corner…

 
4 Comments

Posted by on May 21, 2011 in Personal

 

Tags: , ,

4 responses to “End of the World? Not my problem!

  1. Harnew

    May 21, 2011 at 9:53 pm

    I didn’t believe it but unfortunately I entertained the thought and started getting sad. I’m young. I haven’t lived yet. I like how your gravatar represents the “flustered grad.”

     
    • Flustered Grad

      May 21, 2011 at 11:56 pm

      Don’t be sad! Take this as the point in which you start living your life without regrets. Thanks, I love that gravatar too! 🙂

       
  2. Rishi

    May 22, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    It pains me to think how much productivity was lost on account of this “rapture.” My humble opinion is that mankind already knows how our species will come to an end… and it’s not the rapture/apocalypse. It’s by our own self-destruction. 😦

     
  3. Tropami

    June 5, 2011 at 2:40 am

    We live in Oakland, CA, and my daughter’s high school graduation ball was on May 21st. The kids felt that the end of the world was an appropriate tag for the day their 12 years of schooling were ending. 😉

    On the side note, the text on the Soviet stamp reads: “A man of the Country of Soviets in Space, April 12, 1961. USSR postal service, 10 copecs.”

     

Leave a comment